Rebab Week 2: Hitting the reset button

I’m now at the end of week 2 of the CFS rehab program. Whilst this week has still been an introduction to the elements of the program, I feel like I’ve come out of it like I’ve hit the reset button on my life and habits.

A lot of this week has focussed on self awareness and beginning to set small goals. Through this blog I feel that I’m already aware of my condition and my physical, mental and social problems. Whilst I’m aware of them I haven’t really stopped long enough to fully absorb and address them.

This week I wrote the key issues down and cleared the slate, ready to work towards fixing each of these problems one achievable goal at a time. For the first time in my life I have a time scheduled to setting a single, clear goal. A goal I have to vocalise and share with others so that I have people to hold me accountable to achieving my goal. My biggest downfall in the past has been not having to be accountable to anyone but myself and letting my lack of self control hold me back. But now I have a support group who will act as my motivator.

Slowing down to a complete stop is not something society is good at. We’re always multitasking, always contactable, always on the go. It’s no wonder that illnesses like mine are becoming more common. My goal is to let it all go. To slow down. To stop. Something I think the world could benefit from doing.

Sick or not. Stressed or calm. I challenge you to take some time out every so often and just stop and reset the clock. It’s amazing how good it can feel.

Leave a Reply

